• Slideshow Image 1
  • Slideshow Image 2
  • Slideshow Image 3
  • Slideshow Image 2
  • Slideshow Image 3
HOME WHY BARBADOS? THE ESTATE ACCOMMODATION GALLERY RATES & BOOKING TESTIMONIALS

What people think of Nelson Gay


“Paradise Found!!!”
Family from London
Reviewed March 7, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
The house and staff were perfect. The location is spectacular. The concierge took care of our every need. We have happy memories to last a lifetime. Thank you everyone associated with Nelson Gay. We will be back!!

“The pictures don't do it justice because you can't feel the ambiance.”
Sheriff Family
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in March 2018
The home is so wonderful because the staff makes it that way. Nelson Gay has character and is well appointed. It has wonderful outdoor space and everything is available for your pleasure and relaxation. Thank you so much for sharing Nelson Gay with us and allowing us to enjoy a fantastic, relaxing week.

“A week in paradise for multiple generations”

South Carolina Family
Reviewed February 2, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
We stayed here as a family of three generations. Every aspect of the visit was perfect for each generation. From the pool, to the beach, to the luxury of the accommodations, the meals, and the excellent indulging staff all were satisfied. The villa is a classic historical modernized villa with all the amenities one could wish for. The beach was great for the little ones as it was very calm. There were coral reefs about 100 yards out that provided snorkelling excitement--sea turtles and tropical fish. Every need was taken care of. I think our parting words with one of the staff summed up the attention we were given. As we were packing to leave, one of the staff asked us if we had any dirty clothes to be washed before we left. We replied that we could wait until we arrived home. Her reply "no one leaves Nelson Gay with dirty clothes".

“A Little Bit of Heaven on Earth”
Dianne
Reviewed March 23, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
There were 16 of us plus an infant. Our visit to Nelson Gay was exquisite! The staff were all phenomenal and attended to our every need. The food was excellent, the accommodations were excellent, and the weather was perfect. We loved swimming in both the pool and ocean. Snorkelling was terrific and the local monkeys provided entertainment. We all would recommend Nelson Gay for anyone looking for a get-away vacation. Thanks again for providing such lasting memories from all of us. BEST VACATION EVER!!!

“A glorious villa in a sensational position with the best staff in Barbados”
David A
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
Nelson Gay has a timeless charm and draws visitors into its embrace. From the moment you are greeted by the entire staff until the sad time when you have to bid them all farewell, you are guaranteed the most memorable experience. The position of the estate is ideal - on a beautiful (often virtually private) beach but within easy 
walking distance of an attractive town in one direction and Cobblers Cove in the other. The bedrooms are light and airy: and we lunched and dined out of doors throughout our stay. The food is delicious - with optional menus offering plenty of suggestions as well as the opportunity to go off-piste.

Returning visitors to Barbados know what to expect in terms of the marvellous welcome and the opportunities to attempt the full range of sports and touring: or opt to do absolutely nothing except soak up the sun and wallow in the matchless sea. With its charming grounds, Nelson Gay provides a delightful base. Our party of nine enjoyed the most wonderful holiday.


“Heavenly Oasis”
Party from London
Reviewed May 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Party of 6 adults. Everything was perfect. The staff are attentive but not invasive. The food was wonderful, simple and wholesome as per our request. The gardens are a delightful oasis. Beach access is superb and private. We ate out twice in 2 weeks and on reflection shouldn't have bothered as we didn't find anywhere with the ambience and quality of Nelson Gay. If you need to relax in beautiful surroundings with your family and friends do it here - there is something for everyone. The media room was a hit for the younger ones on hot days. The beach water sports are outside the back gate. The garden has good shade and privacy. The pool (which we had heated) was therapeutic. Billy makes the best rum punch. Thanks to all for making our stay so special.

“Wonderful experience”
Katrina, Switzerland
Reviewed January 5, 2018 for a stay in November 2017
It was a wonderful experience. What you see on the photos is what you get. The house is big, high ceilings, has great size of rooms, space and nice atmosphere. The pool is heated, the garden is beautiful, with a variety of trees, bushes, flowers beautiful. Access right at the beach with a sunset corner to have your drink while admiring the sun set. The staff is welcoming, warm, professional. They were there when needed and knew how to be discreet. You feel at home for your stay.

Nelson Gay was the perfect place for our family vacation. 10 of us enjoyed spectacular views, beautiful grounds, fun activities, delicious food and the most incredible staff we have ever had. The amenities were top-notch and the rooms were well-decorated and comfortable. I would recommend Cool Runnings for a fun day sailing and snorkeling. It was the trip of a lifetime! We can't wait to come again next year.

Rosanne Ball, November 2016 (Trip Advisor)

“All you need and more for a wedding venue!”
We decided to book Nelson Gay for our wedding week, and it did not disappoint! It was only a small wedding of 11, so we were able to have all our family and friends stay with us for the week, as well as hold the wedding on the immaculate property. The chattle house provided the perfect amount of privacy for the bride and groom, and was beautifully decorated as a surprise on the night of the wedding. Shauntel, Billy, Tyrone, Winston and the rest of the staff were so wonderful, and quickly felt like part of the family! The food was absolutely incredible, some of the best meals we've had, and Billy's rum punch definitely lived up to the expectiations from other reviews! The fridge was always fully stocked with beer, and we were even provided a cooler so we could have drinks down by the beach. The Blue Sky staff were very helpful in organizing excursions, airport transportation, car hires, and last minute wedding prep such as having the dresses and suits professionally pressed. Between the closet full of board games, and the water sports chest by the beach, there was never a dull moment! The staff were extremely accommodating and worked with the wedding coordinator to ensure our special day was perfect! Our stay was made even more special on the last evening when we were surprised with a BBQ and a live Reagge performance! This is the perfect versatile property for any type of holiday; whether it be with family or friends, to host an event, or just relax, Nelson Gay is the place for you!
Alice F - (5 Stars Trip Advisor)

“Lovely beach location and wonderful staff... Caribbean paradise”
Such a lush, beautiful charming beachfront villa with plenty of room for the 9 of us. The staff is so friendly and accommodating and honestly the food served was the best we've had among the different villas that we have rented on Barbados. Loved that the pool was the central focal point of the grounds. Also loved learning the history of the house which you can find in their welcome book. We usually stay in St James parish and I have to say this location on the beach is a lot quieter. Not as many loud catamarans and jet skis in front of the villa all the time. Will probably rent again in the future.
Mctaguest - (5 Stars Trip Advisor)

What can I say? In life perfection is hard to find, almost impossible, but I am (plus all the family - 13 of them) very happy to say that we have found it in a wonderful property called Nelson Gay. All the family agree that the second time around was even better than the first. Even the weather was kind to us, considering it was summer and the rainy season: only one wet day in the two weeks. I had forgotten about the little ‘sprinkles’ that occurred from time to time for a matter of a few minutes which freshened the air and then the sun appeared again!

Added to all the pleasure of our holiday we were given added treats in the form of a great dinner of prawns (I think they are called shrimps in Barbados) on Friday night with Tony providing delightful music on his pans. After dinner he did liven up his music which the grandchildren loved and danced the night away. I can only say that this was the icing on the cake and we all send you our thanks for your generosity.

I am still trying to return to UK time, but I will fill in your questionnaire in due course. I would say that the great strength at Nelson Gay is not only the beautiful surroundings and facilities, but the STAFF: they are all, not only efficient, but absolutely charming, especially Chris who was marvellous with the young.


Mrs S. C. – London, August 2017

As last year, we really enjoyed our stay at Nelson Gay. We were a party of nine - all family - and benefitted from gorgeous weather almost all the time and the attentions of your marvellous staff. The chefs produced legendary lunches and dinners; and it seemed to us that the garden was particularly lovely and that there were some stylish additions in the house. We enjoyed the walking and swimming and undertook one or two tours of the island. Someone organised a farewell champagne and musical interlude for us which we greatly appreciated.
Russell Family – February 2017

Nelson Gays' friendly and professional staff

We have been to Barbados several times, and Nelson Gay House is the most wonderful place to stay. We took our adult children and their significant others, we didn't need all the bedrooms, but could see how many more people could be accommodated. Everything desired was available, from the use of tennis courts, spa, and water sports next door through Cobblers Cove, to the absolute privacy of the property for relaxing, to the proximity of Speightstown, and the accessibility of the water right out the gate. Some homes have wonderful views but no access! This home has both. The breakers afforded a place to snorkel, and for two days there were high enough waves to boogie board without fear of a rocky bottom. The staff was supremely professional. The chef did the shopping and prepared three meals a day, not the usual two we've been offered in the past. The laundry was done daily with our clothes brought back early each afternoon. The butler had coffee ready every afternoon at 4:00. The monkeys came and went, and we fed them only on the last morning, I recommend feeding them the first day! They are adorable and keep their distance. The landscaping is incredible as well. Banana and mango trees, breadfruit, even a sandbox tree. The bedrooms are comfortable and inviting. The formal dining room is exquisite, we only used it on Valentine's Day for two, by candlelight, after sending the kids out to Cin Cin! The house has the feel of a loved home, not just a rental house. There are games and snorkeling equipment, books and a Sonos system for music. You will never want to leave. We didn't!
Susan Padgett – February 2017


‘Readjusting to the real-life after such a wonderful week is taking some work. Everyone in our group expressed how this was the perfect place for us to celebrate as a family. Every generation was truly satisfied.' 'Yes we would love to return and would definitely recommend Nelson Gay. In fact, we limited our eating out to one night so we would not have to leave. Shauntel did an excellent job of babysitting that night and the kids loved her. The cooks were very attentive to our different dietary demands and food allergies. We loved the music system.' 'Thanks for sharing your
beautiful villa.’
Dunlap Family, USA – January 2017

This was our second stay at Nelson Gay. The location is amazing. The first time we travelled with 15 people, this time with 9. This villa is a truly magical place. The location, staff and amenities are all first class. It was like coming home when we returned as all the same staff were there. The beach front patio is perfect for casual conversations throughout the day as well as our daily cocktail hour watching the spectacular sunsets. Billy the Butler makes a wicked rum sour and quickly learnt to make them by the pitcher for these occasions. The beach is wonderful and calm - suitable for a short stroll and lazy swimming. We were so well looked after by all the staff - Shauntell, Winston, Billy, Kerry.......that it was hard to leave. Everyone went above and beyond. The villa itself is beautiful with exceptional furnishings and history. Although we chose to eat all our meals al fresco, there is a spectacular formal dining room if the occasion requires. Meals were wonderful and prepared exactly to our input - mind you we really didn't have to say too much because we loved everything If you are looking for a little slice of heaven, this is the place to stay. I can't wait to return to Nelson Gay.
Sue Hyatt – November 2016

“I fell in love with Nelson Gay without any reservation, a complete love affair with the place”
We had a simply, heavenly, wonderful time. It is my sincerest hope that I'm able to come back more than once a year, and even on occasion stay there for more than a week - perhaps even a month. It would be nice to be good and regular customers at your wonderful home. Your beautiful pool is a stunning addition. Nelson Gay simply reeks of Old Barbados in the very, very best way. Nelson Gay is representative of the very, very best of Barbados tradition. It's a beautiful old house, kept going, without any of the so-called 'modernizations' - the beautiful old bathrooms, the scent of the corral stone and tropical gardens; all of it weaves a magical spell that is not found in houses that have been updated with newer structure.
Douglas Urbanski, (Hollywood Film Producer, September 2016)

“Nelson Gay is a Bajan Paradise”
We are a group of 6 couples who first rented out Nelson Gay for a long weekend in November 2011. The setting of the villa is spectacular. It is on a calm beach and has a spectacular pool. Watching Sunset every night with cocktails is heaven on earth. From the time we arrived until we left we felt that staff tended to our every need. From rum punch on arrival to elaborate meals, to laundry every day. The food was made fresh for each meal exceeded our expectations. We have now rented out this house for 3 consecutive years and we all look forward to reuniting with all the staff in Nov 2014.
JW, New York USA (Trip Advisor)

“Heaven on Earth”

From the moment we entered the stunning tranquility of Nelson Gay, any apprehension we may have had about renting a villa from only photos and online comments were banished. The grounds are mature, lush, and so welcoming, the pool gorgeous, the beach quiet and relaxing. Sun and shade always available. The house is spectacular, rooms cool and relaxing, the bedroom air conditioners excellent, beds so comfy. We ate all meals outside, cannot say enough about the food - breakfast prepared to order - who knew French toast could be so good! Lunches and dinners absolutely delicious (menu determined by guests and chef upon arrival, and easy to adjust as groceries are purchased daily (we ended up requesting flying fish a second time), food allergies/preferences no problem. Healthy, fresh, we did not gain weight! There was even coffee ready when the early risers were in need. We had one meal out, at a highly rated restaurant, ended up canceling other reservations since the food we were treated to at NG was so much better! Afternoon cocktails so lovely and customized. The house manager introduced the staff as soon as we arrived, clearly describing the responsibilities of each. Knowing we would have a staff of 7 was a bit daunting in theory (we have a staff of 0), but all were charming, friendly (as we found everyone we met in Barbados to be), efficient, hard working, thoughtful, and so comfortable to be with. Chris took us out to feed the "resident" turtle most mornings - an amazing experience to be able to feed and touch such a majestic creature. The owner of the house called to speak with us while we were there, genuinely interested in our thoughts, he wanted to be sure we were having a wonderful time. Decadent relaxation-would return in a heartbeat!
South Carolina Family, May 2014 (Trip Advisor)

“Wonderful villa, wonderful staff”
This was the second time that our family returned to Nelson Gay and, as before, it was paradise. A lush green lawn surrounds the pool and a beach is at the end of the garden: what more could you ask for? The best thing is probably the staff who manage to keep that fine balance between staying out of the way, allowing you some privacy, and being on hand whenever you need them. Our family is already planning the next trip.
HR, London UK - February 2014 (Trip Advisor)

“Magical Place”
This is the third year running we have visited Nelson Gay for spring half term, and each year it spins it's magic on us. We love the laid back style, the friendly staff, and the great food. More than anything though, the garden (which would put most botanical gardens to shame) and the beach and the pool just give us the perfect playground for the extended family, which for that week includes the wild monkeys and the mongoose. Roll on next year!
CW, London UK - February 2014 (Trip Advisor)

"Heaven on earth, quite spectacular!"
Dawson family (UK)

“We returned from paradise last Saturday, today it is just a distant beautiful memory. Thank you so much, it was absolutely amazing. As I wrote in the visitors book: ‘eleven of us arrived at Nelson Gay, died and went to heaven for a week!”
Hird family (UK)

“The week passed all too quickly in a halcyon haze of al fresco lunches on the beach, delicious moonlit dinner parties and swims in the magnificent pool.”
Bob Sherman (UK)



Book Now Click on the icon to book or make an enquiry
| © 2015 Nelson Gay | Sitemap |